sunset_from_hotel__header.jpg

Guest Reviews - Airds Hotel, Luxury Romantic Hotel in the Scottish Highlands

With so many guests now posting reviews on external sites such as Tripadvisor, we thought we would collate just a few of the more recent ones.  Receiving such lovely comments is so nice for all the staff and makes their job so much more rewarding.  To know that they are contributing to someone's holiday enjoyment and relaxation means so much to them.  We cannot pretend that we always get it right and with human nature being what it is, it is pretty much impossible to please all of the people all of the time - however we do our best!  

Shaun McKivragan

Amazing hotel but expensive Reviewed January 2017 (5 out of 5)

We stayed here for the New Year package and could not fault anything about it. the attention to detail was second to none and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Our every need was catered for. The food was fantastic, particularly the gourmet dinner on 1st January. The views from the hotel were amazing as well. If I had a tiny complaint I missed fireworks at midnight on Hogmany.

Sensational Weekend Reviewed 15 November 2016 (5 out of 5)

Having never stayed at Airds we were in great anticipation as its reputation is so good. I have to say it exceeded our expectations. The staff are so attentive and friendly but seem to know when to disappear. The food is very good, even exceptional considering it hasn't got a Michelin star - yet. Our bedroom had a view of the loch which was great since the weather was so nice. It was real decadence waking up to proper tea being served to your room together with a little pastry - such little details are what makes all the difference. We also enjoyed our cycle on the purpose built cycle track near the hotel wich allowed us to cycle along the side of the loch admiring the view across the water.
What a wonderful weekend - thank you Airds.

Attention to detail par excellence! Reviewed 1 November 2016 (5 out of 5)

This small hotel sits in a lovely spot overlooking Loch Linnhe. The rooms are of variable size and position, but are very well appointed with lots of little extras, including a small decanter of whisky mac! The staff are very attentive and chatty, but do not hover at all. They always keep an eye open to see what is needed, even before you realise yourself what you need! The food is fantastic, and the attention to detail is superb. I mentioned that I prefer cheese to dessert, but don't eat unpasteurised cheese - so pasteurised was available each night. I also mentioned that I don't generally eat blue cheese, so when the nibbles arrived with pre-dinner drinks, this had been taken into account, and I was given one nibble minus the blue cheese which was usually a part of the dish - without my asking. Impressive. Often on leaving an expensive hotel, you can feel a little disappointed, feeling that you might have expected a bit more. Not here. I have left each time feeling glad to have stayed here, and looking forward to returning, and not resenting at all the cost, which is certainly not inconsiderable, but also not excessive and certainly worth it!

Restaurant, poised elegant modern Scottish cooking. Reviewed 25 October 2016 (5 out of 5)

This review is simply for the restaurant as i haven't actually stayed the night here. I would like to start my review on from the moment that you walk into this fine establishment you a greeted by the warm and welcoming staff. You are then sat next to the fireplace offered a drink and showed the concise a la carte and tasting menu. Along with the champagne came some olives and caramalised nuts and then the canapés ( the pork belly with apple puree standing out ) we are then taken through to the small intimate dining room with fantastic views and immaculately set tables. To start i had scallops with pasta and a caviar butter sauce, the scallops being cooked perfectly with wonderfully soft beautifully seasoned pasta and the fantastic emulsified butter sauce which brought the whole dish together. For the main i had duck which was cooked and judged perfectly with the classical flavour combination of orange and duck ( cant really go wrong their ) and wild rice which was still al dente and the lovely rendered duck fat to give the dish some more texture, the only thing i could flaw with this dish was the fat on the actual duck breast could have been a little more crispy and the sauce was a bit thin and lacked flavour their for not adding much to the dish but this really is nit picking!. Then came the stand out dish of the meal which was the lemon parfait set to perfection, with the crumbs on the outside adding excellent texture and a wonderfully light lemon sauce. ( would also like to comment on the perfect soufflé that my friend had which was the kind of standard I've had in restaurant Gordon Ramsay).
What i really love about this restaurant is the chef makes food that you actually want to eat, no gimmicks or style over substance. Everything is on the dish for a reason and its refreshing! This is a wonderful combination of modern and classical dishes merging together to create poised well executed Scottish cookery at its best.

Definitely a "make a point to go to" place Reviewed 18 October 2016 (5 out of 5)

this hotel is a four hour drive for us. Up until now we have only thought about going. silly mistake. This hotel is in a beautiful part of west coast Scotland. The scenery all around is incredible. On arrival at the hotel (earlier than check in I may add) we asked about coffees. We were instead offered not just coffee but the entire lunchtime menu even though it was about 15 minutes early. "Not a problem" we were told. we both had the most glorious cream of celeriac soup with lovely sandwiches, eaten in the conservatory overlooking the loch. 
We went for a little walk around before going back to the hotel. Our room was number12, on the second floor with stunning views. A complimentary glass of fizz was then delivered to the room. The room is lovely, warm and spotlessly clean.
In the evening we sat down in the lounge for pre dinner drinks and canapes. All very civilised. The meal we had was second to none. I have eaten in some of the best restaurants in the world and this can easily hold its own.
after a very good nights sleep (wine possibly involved) we were treated to a beautiful breakfast.
We will go back, and we will take friends.

Perfect in every way! Reviewed 10 October 2016 (5 out of 5)

Throughout our stay, we had no complaints. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful, the service in the dining room was un-intrusive, the standard of the breakfast and dinner was superb and finally there is a total air of relaxation in the public rooms and bedrooms.

A haven of tranquilety Reviewed 2 October 2016 (5 out of 5)

My wife and I spent 3 nights there in early September. We can only echo the glowing praise of most reviewers re: the location, friendly professional staff, rooms and food. The recent comment on slow service we think misses the point. Not a place to rocket in and out of the restaurant, but relax and enjoy the pre dinner drinks and canapes, in the drawing room and coffee there afterwards. Breakfast, we thought with its variety and everything so freshly prepared, a particular highlight.

At a less energetic age, we travelled by rented car and enjoyed the well surfaced and signposted A roads, north to Fortwilliam and historic Glenfinnan and south to Oban. However if venturing off the beaten track to places like Easdale, the roads single track in places, need to be driven with care. Also if using the picturesque Hotel recommended route back to Glasgow, the A82 through dramatic Glencoe and Rannoch Moor, do allow extra time for the twisting narrow 10 miles from Ardlui to Tarbet which even around mid day on a Friday in September, was slow with the heavy vehicles needing to stop when passing.

A special word of thanks to Janette for tracing down a delayed package for us, sent by post from London, keeping us in touch and posting on, after we had left.

Wonderful Airds Reviewed 16 September 2016 (5 out of 5)

I cannot praise this hotel enough. It is wonderful and full of little surprises. When you arrive the hotel is not grand looking but this modesty covers up shere luxury from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. The decor is sophisticated, the food superb and the service fantastic. What more do you want from a holiday. The menu provides good choice and lots of local fresh fish as well as meat options and during our 3 night stay we could not fault the food in anyway and it was infact some of the best we have tasted and we eat out a lot!

Our room was loch facing and whilst the weather was not great, the views were still stunning with an ever changing vista from morning to night. The bed was the most comfortable we have slept in in a hotel and the room had everything we wanted plus more. The toiletries were bulgari which was a real treat. We had been recommended Airds by friends and it is known for its great food and service and both surpassed expectations. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay relaxing and just what we needed and we will certainly be back.

Another great stay Reviewed 10 September 2016 (5 out of 5)

This hotel just gets better. We were particularly impressed with the food this time - the combination of flavours and presentation were so clever that we didn't want the dinner to end. The setting is also incredible with stunning views of the loch and mountains. I should also say congratulations to Andrew for making the whole dining experience so special and also well done to Graham for steering such a great ship.

Airds continues to excel Reviewed 28 August 2016 (5 out of 5)

Just got back from a return visit to this very special place. There's always a concern that returning won't match up to the first visit but not a bit of it. We stayed 2 nights and found it even better than before. Not only are the rooms extremely comfortable and beautifully appointed but the staff are so professional and yet friendly - they couldn't have done more for us. I must also congratulate the chef as our meals were so good. We also had a great time hiring bikes and cycling along the dedicated cycle track along the side of the loch - such great views. If you want superb service and excellent value for money then this is the place to stay in Port Appin.


Immaculate stay in great luxury! Reviewed 11 August 2016 (5 out of 5)

Found this hotel quite by accident when we were looking for somewhere to stay for one night en route from Glasgow to the Isle of Skye and what a gem it is!!
The location is just fabulous as Port Appin is a beautiful place and the hotel staff were most welcoming with a glass of Prosecco. Our superior room had wonderful far reaching views of Loch Linnhe and the Ardnurmurchan mountains and was tastefully decorated with all the amenities we could need - very comfortable bed and a lovely bathroom also with the same view if you wanted it.
There is a very good sized residents lounge, a small bar for pre dinner drinks and a lovely dining room again with great views over the loch. Dinner was excellent, beautifully cooked, a good choice of dishes, excellent service and coffee and petit fours included so we had a wonderful meal and then retired to our room to watch a dvd.
After an excellent night's sleep we much enjoyed the full Scottish breakfast and then we were off to Skye wishing we had booked up for at least another two nights as there was such a lot to do in the area with an excellent guide and contact details for all sorts of walks, rides, visitor attractions etc etc provided by the hotel.
Well done Airds Hotel - you certainly ticked all our boxes!!


Great place to relax and explore this West Coast area of Scotland Reviewed 7 August 2016 (4 out of 5)

Pros: Welcoming and friendly staff. Comfortable but not pretentious rooms. Lounges and bar relaxing . Restaurant with great views whatever the weather. Good breakfast with table service. Excellent evening dining. 
Cons: Very poor internet (hence only 4 stars) and no mobile signal - great if that is what you are looking for, otherwise quite stressful!


Flawless hotel in a spectacular setting. Reviewed 19 July 2016 (5 out of 5)

We spent 3 fabulous nights at Airds, and it was faultless. It is a perfect combination of luxury, comfort and relaxation. The food is some of the best we have ever eaten. The menu was varied and every dish was perfectly prepared and presented. The staff are professional and charming, and nothing is a problem. We had a beautiful room which was extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated. The hotel is a home from home and the setting is stunning. We will definitely return.

Perfect in every way Reviewed May 2016 (5 out of 5)

What a wonderful weekend we had at The Airds! It is difficult to say what we loved the most - the first class service, the luxurious room, the wonderful food or the stunning scenery. This has to be the most perfect antidote to the stresses of every day life. I cannot recommend this hotel enough and can't wait to return!

Wall to wall comfort Reviewed May 2016 (5 out of 5)

We had the most wonderful break at Airds Hotel. The accommodation was extremely comfortable and welcoming; the food was sumptious the wines excellent and an ambience of relaxation and total comfort conveyed which is only possible with a lot of hard work behind the scenes.

Wonderful hotel in great location Reviewed May 2016 (5 out of 5)

This hotel exudes class and sophistication but in a low key way. It is small and perhaps rather modest looking from the front but is a delight once inside. The staff are so well trained that they make you feel at home straight away but also conduct their roles with style and efficiency. They seem to be able to anticipate your requests.
The restaurant is delightful with good food and superb views - the same view you get from the very comfortable front facing room we had.
Prior to our stay we were a little apprehensive about whether there would be enough to do in the area but we needn't have worried as we ran out of time to do everything.
We would highly recommend this hotel as a base on the west coast.

Special experience - Reviewed 11 April 2016 (5 out of 5)

A fantastic hotel with a level of service that is rare these days. This really is a home from home. I never tire of the changing view from the dining room overlooking the water and mountains. It is very peaceful so don't expect evening entertainment but a great retreat for those in need of rest and relaxation.

A four night break at Airds - Reviewed 9 April 2016 (5 out of 5)

Airds enjoys outstanding food and exceptional levels of service. Nothing is too much trouble for the hotel manager: Graham Steven. He was the reason for our return visit! His entire team are attentive, friendly and helpful. There was fresh fruit and a decanter of delicious whisky mac in our room and bowls of fresh fruit throughout the hotel. We definitely plan another visit!

Honeymoon - Reviewed 7 April 2016 (5 out of 5)

Wow! We spent our first part of our honeymoon at Airds. First of all, we were met by very friendly and welcoming staff. The suite we stayed in, was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. After our journey we relaxed in front of the fire with a gin and tonic. What a way to start our stay. 

Some friends had said it was tired looking. They must have been a while back. Everywhere was beautifully decorated and up to date. A lot of thought had been put into it. 

The staff we very professional in a relaxed way. Attention to detail was always present. It is really hard to describe the fantastic food. Really, just take a trip, and experience it yourself! Brilliantly presented and fantastic flavours using fresh, seasonal produce. The taster menu was amazing and all the wines complimented the food perfectly. Thank goodness we only had to go upstairs! Chef must be very highly commended. 

While we enjoyed the food, we watched the constantly changing view across the water. Stunning and very relaxing. The setting is superb.

There was a slight administrative glitch, which was swiftly corrected, and we were more than adequately compensated for. We really were not expecting it, but shows the strive for excellence.

We will be back! Thanks for an amazing start to our honeymoon. 

A wonderful treat - Reviewed March 2016 (5 out of 5)

We spent three nights at Airds last week and had a wonderful visit. The staff were exceptional throughout, considerate, helpful and open. We particularly enjoyed having dinner in front of the log fire, very special. The food was excellent, well balanced, sufficient to fill but not leave you overfill. The view from the dining room in the mornings with snow on he hills is breathtaking. We did quite a logos walking, joined by our two springer spaniels. We wish them well for the forthcoming season, they are a credit to Scottish hospitality.

Never Disappoints Each Time We Return - Reviewed March 2016 (5 out of 5)

We decided to treat ourselves once again to a short break at the Airds Hotel. We stayed in a superior room overlooking the loch. The room was spacious but cosy and bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom clean bright and spacious. We woke up each morning to a lovely view from our bed looking out towards the mountains. You can either have tea making facilities in your bedroom or complimentary morning tea and a newspaper of your choice delivered to your bedroom. A good choice of breakfast with more than enough to set you up for the lovely walks around the area. They also serve lunch and afternoon tea. There are two lounges with open fires where you can relax and rewind with a book. The staff are always on hand if you require anything throughout the day. Dinner is served between 7.00 pm and 8.45pm which suits all, either eating early or later. The dinning room is spacious but still has an intimate feeling about it. The chef did not disappoint with the food he delivered. Everything we ate we could not fault, in fact I would say the food is even better. A perfect place to stay and relax with Graham running the establishment very professionally and staff always friendly and attentive. Will certainly return again.

  • Stayed February 2016, travelled as a couple

Anniversary escape Reviewed March 2016 - (5 out of 5)

Lovely hotel situated in a quiet idyllic town. What made this hotel special was the staff and especially the chef. They were really helpful and very accommodating which made our stay very relaxing. My husband was a diabetic and the chef went out of his way to prepare special desserts for him.

Sad to leave! - Reviewed 2 February 2016 (5 out of 5)

Have just spent two fabulous days at the Airds and even the storms can't detract from the wonderful ambience one always experiences here. For me, whatever time of the year, whatever the weather, the stunning scenery is fascinating.
Such a warm welcome is guaranteed from the moment you enter Airds and Graeme, Cathy and each member of Staff ensure
that your every need will be attended to.
The Chef, Chris Stanley, and his team provide guests with the most amazing
array of dishes to choose from. So hard to decide from the menu but whatever takes your fancy, it is bound to be fabulous.
Well done Airds for maintaining the exceptionally high standards - can't wait to return.

Stayed February 2016, travelled as a couple

superb hotel - Reviewed 25 January 2016 (5 out of 5)

this hotel is outstanding the service the décor everything about it is superb I would recommend the taster menu at dinner as this gives you the chance to sample various dishes from the menu there are absolutely no negative aspects in relation to this establishment

But we had to come home!!!!  - Reviewed 17 January 2016 (5 out of 5)

We've stayed at Airds quite a few times over the years, usually post festive period recovery! This year we took our son and daughter in law for their first Airds experience. It is just simply a wonderful hotel, very cosy, lovely rooms, fantastically comfortable beds and a location as beautiful as you could wish for, early morning light casting golden hues over the snow capped hills and the bay is a wonderful view to wake up to.

Spent most of our time lazing around, a leisurely walk round the headland, short trip to Glencoe but the lure of the log fires in the cosy lounges always pulls you back.
Food at all times was stunning and most importantly perfectly balanced portion size which left you relishing the experience rather than feeling you had over eaten. As mentioned in other reviews the staff are marvellous and are clearly 'ninja' trained, you don't see them or hear them but when you want them they always seem to be there.
If we won the lottery we couldn't think of a better place to move to permanently!
Unfortunately we haven't and as we could only stay for two nights we had to come home! Till the next time.

Stayed January 2016, travelled with family

New Year Black Tie Package - Reviewed 3 January 2016 (5 out of 5)

We stayed at he Airds for four nights over New Year with friends. The hotel is small, very comfortable and the room we had , a small superior had loch views and while on the small side was very well furnished and equipped. The breakfast menu was extensive and the chef was happy to prepare kedgeree which was not the menu when asked. The evening meals were absolutely first class and we could have been dining in a Michelin star establishment. The stars however were the staff, helpful , attentive while not obtrusive and nothing seemed to much trouble for them . The hotel is well managed and the festive programme they had laid on went like clockwork. Not cheap but quality usually isn't .

Excellent in every way - Reviewed 2 January 2016 ( 5 out of 5)

We had the pleasure of spending 2 nights at the Airds Hotel before Christmas. This was our first visit and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we felt totally relaxed and spoilt. The staff were incredibly friendly and attentive, making sure we had everything we needed at all times. There was a sense of absolute professionalism and pride from everyone we met. 

Our room was beautiful, with a fantastic view of the loch and lighthouse. The Nespresso coffee machine and bottle of whiskey mac were a lovely touch and attention to detail is clearly a focus for the owners. I loved the addition of the highland cow sitting on the bed as you arrive. He is in place of a 'do not disturb' sign - you just pop him outside your door...genius! The room attendants were very discreet and we always returned to a perfectly clean room, even if we'd just popped down for breakfast! 

Breakfast was delicious, with a sumptuous menu. Traditional Scottish treats are found here, with bannock (fruitcake), Scottish oatmeal (with whiskey is you prefer!), Stornoway black pudding and local smoked kippers. There are subtle hints of Scottish decor throughout the hotel, but it is certainly not over done. The interiors are immaculate, stylish and incredibly comfortable - a hard balance to create. The scenery around the hotel is stunning and we went for a couple of beautiful coastal walks along the headland. I was saved by the thoughtful supply of wellington boots to all guests! We also visited Oban and had a tour of the whiskey distillery there - well worth a visit. Back at the hotel, the highlight for us had to be the restaurant's tasting menu with pairing wines. Every course was stunning. I am not one to normally go for pairing wines, but I thoroughly enjoyed every one of them! Once again, staff were very attentive and knowledgeable, explaining every course and the origin of ingredients. 

We had such a wonderful time at Airds and would thoroughly recommend it to our friends and family. A wonderful treat and one to be repeated!

Thank you to all at Airds!

Perfect break Reviewed 30 December 2015 (5 out of 5)

I stayed at Airds with my partner for a delightful break away from hectic city life. We were greeted by the friendly staff and owner on arrival and shown to our beautifully decorated room overlooking the loch. After a stroll around the headland and a brief refresh in our room, we sat town to the restaurant for the treat of the stay - I can't recommend the Tasting Menu enough (especially with the Tasting Wines!) The restaurant staff were very knowledgeable of the menu and the food was to die for. Even in winter, there is plenty to see and do and we look forward to returning in the summer. Many thanks to all at Airds and look forward to our next visit!

Wonderful Christmas break Reviewed 27 December 2015 (5 out of 5)

We stayed at Airds for 3 days over Christmas and it couldn't have been more perfect. The service, staff and food were all amazing. We had a great room overlooking the loch and the scenery was spectacular. The hotel was very cosy with log fires, squashy sofas and plenty of good books to read
Graham and the staff couldn't have done more to make this feel like home from home 
The only thing missing was some snow! 
A fantastic break, we will return,

THE PERFECT COMBINATION OF LUXURY,FRESH AIR AND A FEELING OF BEING AWAY FROM IT ALL  Reviewed 29 November 2015 (5 out of 5)

We had booked the least expensive room but the bed, duvet and pillows were deliciously comfortable, there was plenty of storage for clothes and plenty of coat hangers( many so-called top hotels have very few). it was great to have a window in the bedroom and the bathroom that opened- so many modern hotels don't have this.
Tea making facilities are complimentary on request but, instead, we managed fine with the complimentary morning tea brought to your room at a time to suit you, free newspaper and a lovely decanter of whisky mixed with homemade ginger wine- great after a long walk in the November weather!
The whole hotel is very tastefully decorated with high quality furnishings and log fires burn in both drawing rooms.
Dinner is a delightful experience- unhurried, delicious and excellent value despite the £55 price tag. We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks in the drawing room with olives and candied nuts and 3 different canapés each evening. Moving to the dining room, the amuse bouche, starter, main course, pre-dessert and pudding were excellent- delicious and different but not too rich, meaning you went to bed feeling fine. So often, chefs make food so rich you regret the indulgence for a day or two. Not here. Even after petit fours and tea by the log fire, we still felt ready for breakfast in the morning.
Breakfast was again a teal treat and very much in the same league as that we were lucky enough to enjoy a few years ago at Raymond Blanc's Le Manoir.
Service was friendly and polished with staff trained to the highest standards.
There is plenty to do during the day as the ferry to the island of Lismore is only a few hundred yards away ( not for vehicles- capacity of 12 and two bicycles!). We enjoyed walking and cycling on Lismore( you can hire bikes from a lovely lady at a house a couple of minutes from the hotel). The first day we walked to the village hall on Lismore and joined in the festivities at the annual christmas Fayre. On day 2 we went to the Sunday service ( 12.30) at the second oldest church in Scotland- Lismore Parish church which dates from the 560's AD. We found all the islanders very friendly and were even invited to tea in the "wee manse" after the service.
I would love to go back again!

Highland Wedding Reviewed 10 November 2015 (5 out of 5)

Superb location and fantastic service made my daughter's wedding day perfect. All the staff were friendly and courteous and they thought of everything that we could want. Great backdrop for the service and photos. The food was very special and delightfully presented. We had the whole hotel to ourselves and everyone delighted in the luxury.

We had a wonderful weekend here for my sons wedding, where we had exclusive use of the hotel and cottage. Reviewed 10 November 2015 (5 out of 5)

Airds was perfect.The food was outstanding. We had the 7 course tasting menu which was of an exceptional quality. The staff were highly professional, with service delivered In a very personal, but unobtrusive manner. Accommodation was of a high standard and extremely comfortable. The hotel were very accommodating with any special requirements dealt with efficiently, and nothing was too much bother.
We were lucky that the weather cleared for photographs outside. The views are spectacular. However the comfy sofa's and roaring fires in the lounge were very inviting too! 
I cannot recommend Airds highly enough for a special celebration.

A wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting Reviewed September 2015 (5 out of 5)

Port Appin is somewhat off the beaten track, and the Airds Hotel is a fine place to spend a few days relaxing, exploring the surroundings, eating well, and benefiting from very polished service.

We might have been lucky with the weather, but it gave us a chance to talk a walk around the area (the hotel can suggest walks of various lengths), and to hire bicycles from the place around the corner, take the little ferry to Lismore, and bike around the island (note: bikes were not exactly well-maintained, so be check them before you leave the bike-hire place.) It's also a short drive to Oban; the hotel staff can book a tour of the distillery.

Our spacious room (upstairs, facing the ocean) had a great view, and a large bathroom.

The hotel has several rooms for reading (and you can order a whisky or another drink).

Prices are a bit steep, but they include a really superb breakfast and dinner. We ordered a la carte one evening, and the second evening we payed a little extra for the tasting menu with wine pairings. All of the food was first-rate. The staff does a great job (although at one point someone forgot to bring one of the wines, and it took a while to get their attention).

Great hotel in great location! - Reviewed September 2015 (5 out of 5)

While travelling up the west coast of Scotland stayed at the Airds. It was a very good experience with an excellent room and dinner. The food was well cooked and served with a good wine list to complement the food. Highly recommend and complement them on their service. Will visit again.

Wonderful Place to Stay Reviewed September 2015 (5 out of 5)

We recently had a two night stay at Airds and wish it could have been longer. 
We have stayed at Airds before, but four years ago, so we were hoping it would be as good as we remembered, it didn't disappoint. The welcome, the staff, the food, our room...all were wonderful. On our arrival we were immediately offered tea, which we took in the drawing room, we shared an afternoon tea, not wanting to spoil our appetites for dinner. There was more than enough for two and it was delicious. As was dinner. We tried the tasting menu with wines, superb.
If you enjoy walking there are lots of lovely walks in the area and the views from the hotel are spectacular.
This is not a large impersonal hotel. It is rather like staying at a charming country house where you are made to feel very welcome.

... Relaxing place between mountains and sea... Reviewed August 2015 (5 out of 5)

I really liked this hotel: the staff members were kind and helpful, always available for any information or special requirement you might need. The room was cosy and beautiful, just as you might expect... The food was really delicious, a tasting and tempting adventure for your senses... Excellent service at top level! A little paradise on Earth where you have the chance of going for relaxing walks among nature and to visit the islands and attractions nearby...

Should have been here sooner! - Reviewed August 2015 (5 out of 5)

Just about to depart from a wonderful 3 night stay at Airds but regretting we haven't been here since January - far too long!
As ever, a visit here will give you a wonderful culinary experience - an amazing selection of imaginative dishes so beautifully produced by Chef and his team.
Excellent welcoming Staff here guided by the wonderful Graeme and Cathy and all will enjoy the ambience within this beautifully situated hotel. 
Stunning views from the hotel at all times of the day and often amazing Sunsets so don't forget the camera!
An absolute delight from arrival 'til departure so do go and visit without further delay.

A wonderful hotel in a magical spot - Reviewed 15 August 2015 (5 out of 5)

A wonderful hotel in the perfect spot with superb friendly staff and the best food in Scotland. What more do you want! We spent a long weekend at Airds and enjoyed rather mixed weather which I suppose is to be expected on the west coast but it didn't matter as we just relaxed in the hotel and enjoyed talking to the staff, eating fine food and drinking fine wine - we were in heaven for 3 nights! This hotel came highly recommended to us in the past and has never disappointed and we have since recommended it to our friends who equally love it. Go if you can. The view is stunning

Terrific stay with spectacular food - Reviewed August 2015 (5 out of 5)

The Airds is located in a beautiful and remote Scottish Highlands village by the sea. Great walks with terrific views. The rooms are a wee bit small, but the service and the food more than make up for it. The included dinner and full breakfast were the highlights - these are each beautifully presented 3-5 course delicious meals with impeccable service. The rooms also have complimentary "Whiskey Macs" - terrific concoctions of Scotch Whiskey and ginger wine. 
The staff are very attentive and friendly in an unobtrusive way. 
Our family of four had a terrific stay

summer evening at Airds Hotel Reviewed July 2015 (4 out of 5)

Had a really lovely overnight stay in Airds Hotel Port Appin Scotland. The location is very picturesque and the view from our bedroom was beautiful. The room was very pretty and a nice big bathroom although I would have preferred a walk in shower as well as a bath. A nice touch was a complimentary local whiskey based drink in the room . Dinner and breakfast were excellent. Only thing missing for a small hotel was a bit more personal touch

Beautiful place and amazing food Reviewed July 2015 - (5 out of 5)

We loved our stay here. It was some of the best food we have eaten. The service was impeccable and the room lovely. It even allows dogs which is great. We got engaged here so it is very special! We will be back. Highly recommended.

A special spot - Reviewed 9 July 2015 (4 out of 5)

For people familiar with the Maine coast, the Airds Hotel is located in a tiny, but charming village reminiscent of Northeast Harbour. The residents tolerate the hotel because it is small, very well-managed and attracts affluent guests.The food is very good indeed: locally sourced, very fresh, and thoughtfully prepared without being ostentatious. The rooms are small but well appointed, and the wi-fi ( unlike other upscale hotels) works everywhere and is fast.
The main activity is walking, and the sights are spectacular. Well worth the detour….

Return visit did not disappoint - Reviewed 6 July 2015 (5 out of 5)

We have just returned from another visit to Airds. It was as good as ever. The staff, headed up by manager Graham, are wonderful. Service is discreet and no request is ever a problem.The food is incredible and I even managed to clear my plate- which is very unusual! Great ingredients and an attention to detail. We stayed for four nights so there are an extra two choices for each course on the menu on the fourth evening. When we left this morning the owner was asking how we enjoyed our break- he said "we are not as grand as some of the other Relais & Chateaux establishments". My response was "you don't have to be grand to be good". That sums up Airds for me- not grand but very,very good!

As good as they say  Reviewed 3 July 2015 (5 out of 5)

I'd heard about Airds for 30 years before staying there. It's as exceptional as I had heard. Outstanding service; great rooms, thoughtful amenities, and impeccable public areas. The surrounding landscape and gardens aren't bad either. Probably it's best feature, however, is the restaurant: absolutely fabulous meals. A first-rate establishment in all respects.

One of the best lunches in decades - and great value! - Reviewed June 2015 (5 out of 5)

Many years ago, when I was a child, one could stay in this inn for about £15 a week. It was then transformed into a world class dining experience with comfortable rooms, fantastic service and delightful views. It has deservedly collected numerous AA Rosettes and Michelin Stars and a reputation for prices to match. However, I can let you into a little secret. A set lunch is now available to non-residents at £18 or so for a three-course meal. We went there last Sunday to celebrate my mother’s 89th birthday and she absolutely loved it – as did all of us. The food is plated in a very artistic “Master-Chef” kind of way. It looks very appetising. The ladies in our party were more than satisfied with the portion sizes but I would have preferred slightly more in the main course. The service was excellent and the atmosphere delightful. Although wellies, hiking boots and oilskins would not be appropriate, there was a relaxed informality amongst the other diners. It was a very long way from being stuffy. The wine list was impressive and one could certainly spend a bit in this area if one was so inclined. This was a truly delightful experience which we all enjoyed. We didn’t consider it cheap – but it was certainly value for money and I will definitely be back should I feel inclined to spoil my long suffering wife. Highly recommended for the whole experience.


Probably the best meal all year!” - 5 of 5 starsReviewed June 2015 (5 out of 5)

I have visited the Airds hotel many times and the fact that we keep returning is testament to the picturesque location, great food and excellent service of this hotel. However this week I had the taster menu diner and recommend accompanying wines. This was by far the best tester diner and wine selection I have had in a long time. Even considering the high standard expected from Relais Chateaux establishments, this meal was outstanding. Even if you do not plan to stay in Port Appin, I would recommend a trip just for diner. I understand the Chef recently joined the hotel, so let's hope he stays for a while and continues to produce such a high standard of cuisine

Great place for a relaxing break - Reviewed June 2015 (5 out of 5)

Spent a couple of nights at the airds and could not have enjoyed ourselves more. Fantastic friendly service, superb food and stunning location which all made for a relaxing well needed break. Rooms have everything you need or could possibly want and are real luxury. Could highly recommend and will be back!

Excellent Service, Great Food, Lovely Location & Good Room - Reviewed June 2015 (5 out of 5)

We stopped here for just one night on a recent trip up to the Hebrides, making our decision based on the Trip Advisor reviews.

The hotel is in a lovely location on Loch Linnhe and is an attractive building with gardens with lovely flower beds just across the road.

When we arrived we were promptly met, helped with our baggage and shown straight to our room with the (reassuring) advice that no problem should be left unreported or was too small to let the management know about - you get the instant impression that someone has a keen interest in making sure that you have a good stay.

The room itself was good and in keeping with the building with a view over the Loch and a decent bathroom. Not a huge room, nor a flashy/glam type room but well appointed and cosy.

We ate both dinner and breakfast in the hotel and were very impressed by the level of service which I'd say was pretty close to perfect and by the food which was very good but it was the service that really stood out for me - everything 'just worked' from the pouring of wine in the evening to the arrival of toast in the morning. Someone at the hotel should be congratulated for making it all work so well.

In the morning, we took a walk around to Stalker Castle along the beach before taking the advice of the chap who checked us out of the hotel by following the short walk around the headland to see the natural arch.

Over all - this was a very good stay and I'd have no problems recommending it and I'd be happy to revisit in the future.

Luxury and service ethic where nothing is too much trouble Reviewed May 2015 (5 out of 5)

Everything you would hope for from a small scottish hotel that is in an idillic west coast location. Immaculate room, staff who are wonderfully attentive, well trained and where nothing is too much trouble. And as for the food; the best of scottish produce thoughtfully and beautifully presented In a dining room with one of the best views in Scotland. Thoughtful and little touches of exceptional service and facilities throughout our sadly short but memorable visit. And Every time we got a drink, something fantastic to eat accompanied it!

Met our friends from the QM2 .Stayed overnight and brought them to Airds for lunch Reviewed May 2015 (5 out of 5)

We have stayed in Airds many times and always look forward to coming back. The experience is so 5*in every aspect. The food is to die for! The ingredients are first class, and the Chef consistently produces mouth watering dishes, with beautiful presentation.

The whole Hotel is spotless.
The Staff are obviously very well trained, always pleasant, courteous, and can anticipate your needs.
We have been in different room categories over the years, and they are all tastefully decorated, beautiful linen and plenty fluffy towels. They cannot be faulted.
Lovely cosy fires to enjoy in the colder days, but the whole Hotel is warm wherever you wish to sit.
Lots of classy magazines laid out in the lounge for your perusal, and a daily newspaper of your choice arrives outside your door.
Another nice touch is having iced water replaced at turndown. A real gem - try it!

 

Ms. Reviewed May 2015 (5 out of 5)

So if you want the special experience in one of the loveliest spots on the earth, Airds Hotel is it! We stumbled upon Airds after a disastrous situation curtesy of our booking agent and this ended up being a prime example of something good coming from something bad! Rooms ( we had the master suite the first night) was everything you could hope for from a 5 star hotel! I have stayed at the Waldorf in NY and it was not as well turned out as this place is! The manager and the staff went above and beyond to help us salvage a birthday trip and with only a few hours notice were able to include us in their 7 course tasting dinner! Food and service again is top of the line and 5 star! If you are ever planning a trip to the West Highlands of Scotland this place is a must! Jacqueline Buchanan, Denver CO!

Just Bliss Reviewed April 2015 (5 out of 5)

We have just returned from our 2nd stay at Airds. It was every bit as special as the first time. From the moment we arrived until we departed, we were treated to first class service with excellent food & top notch accommodation (if you can, choose a room with a loch view, well worth it)The views from the hotel dining room were also spectacular at dinner & at breakfast. We had the tasting menu at dinner & every course was a taste sensation. We had our usual pre dinner G&T's and tried a gin we had never had before. This was recommended by a very knowledgeable member of staff who talked us through a great range of gins. If u are thinking about booking Airds hotel then I urge you to just do it. You will be pleased you did :)
Room Tip: Loch view if possible - check out FB page to see pictures of the incredible views
 

A very pleasant week in the Highlands Reviewed April 2015

My wife I and our Labrador stayed at Airds for a week at the beginning of April.
we stayed in the cottage in the grounds this was our second visit to the hotel. The first time we stayed in the hotel.

The cottage was very warm and comfortable, kitchen living area was comfortable, the bedroom was very comfortable. 

It was ideal that we could use the hotel facilities we had breakfast in the hotel a couple of times and dinner a couple of time all of which were excellent. 

The staff were very pleasant and charming it was quite obvious a lot were new and were being trained up for the season, this did not impact our enjoyment.

We were particularly impressed when my wife realised she had left some makeup behind in the cottage the hotel found it and posted it on to us.

Will definitely be returning.

Afternoon Tea with a view Reviewed April 2015

Champagne afternoon tea with simply stunning views. 

There was a choice of four sandwiches; cucumber and cream cheese; smoked salmon; beef (beautifully pink) and ham and mustard. All were v tasty. 

Scones were warm and seemingly baked on location. The clotted cream and homemade jam were abundant and tasty. 

Delicious shortbread, fruit loaf and sponge cake followed. 

Tea was good quality and refilled. 

Champagne was large and enjoyable. 

Staff were friendly and efficient and the setting was sublime. Will come back.

Great hotel in great setting with great staff! Reviewed February 2015

This really is the perfect hotel as it provides everything we want in terms of great food, superb staff, get away from it all feel and total relaxation. They know how to treat guests at this hotel and everyone is referred to by their name and never asked their room number from what we observed. This is a personal hotel where each guest matters and listening to the staff talk to the other guests this was just reinforced. 

The hotel is located in the beautiful village of Port Appin where the walking is great and after a day outdoors there was nothing nicer then coming back to a real fire and a great dinner! There is also a great choice of dvds to watch which given we went on February was a great thing to do after dinner - managed to catch up on a few films we had missed over our 3 day stay.

The hotel in our view represented great value for money and we hope to return in the summer again.

Another wonderful stay! Reviewed January 2015

We have just come back from another wonderful, relaxing stay at this fabulous hotel. As ever the staff were fantastic, the food exceptional and the room incredibly comfortable. It really is a perfect place to escape to and completely unwind - even the dog has come home relaxed!

New Year Reviewed January 2015


Absolutely fantastic. Even though the weather was disappointing we really enjoyed every second. The food was delicious, as always, and the staff are wonderful. Even enjoyed the Scottish Dancing on New Years Eve! Very much looking forward to our next stay- and that includes Daisy the dog.

Scotland the best! Reviewed December 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights in November at the Hotel. The food was excellent, and the staff efficient and friendly. A roaring log fire to greet us after our outings was most welcome.
With blue skies and a flat-calm loch to look at, there was no reason to be anywhere other than in Scotland!

Excellent! - Reviewed November 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights to celebrate her birthday. Beautiful lounge areas with open fires and a lovely bedroom make this place a very comfortable place to stay. Our main reason for going was to sample their food and we were not disappointed. We had the tasting menu on our first night and dinner on the second. Both were superb and we could not fault a thing. Breakfast was also a real treat. We were blessed with unexpected lovely weather so the scenery was even more outstanding. I have to mention the staff which I think were probably the friendliest I have come across in such a set up. Thank you to all.

Return visit did not disappoint October 2014 - Tripadvisor

We returned to Airds having first stayed there five years ago. We were not disappointed. We were upgraded to room number 10 which has spectacular views of the loch and lighthouse. We ate from the tasting menu which was varied and interesting. Venison was particularly worth mentioning. Staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. All in all a wonderful experience. Pricey but well worth it for a special occasion. Hope to be able to return soon.
 

Absolute bliss!  October 2014 - Tripadvisor

We had three nights at The Airds and couldn't have been more delighted with our stay.We were thoroughly spoiled by the owners and the staff led by Graham. The food really was exceptional and what fantastic views while you linger over breakfast or dinner. Our room was comfortable and cosy after a day in the autumn chill. The bed was bliss. Never slept so well! In the morning we looked forward to our beautifully presented tray of tea, pastries and our papers and tea and shortbread in the afternoon. If you are lucky enough to be able to go, you really won't be disappointed. Five stars all round. We will be back!
 

“Fantastic Return Visit”  September 2014 - Tripadvisor

We returned to Airds for a few nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had a lovely welcome from Graham and his staff. A different room to last year but I think even better. The food is absolutely superb and I love the fact you can have early morning tea and home made pastries delivered to your room. Nice unobtrusive service, a wonderful location and lovely food- what else do you need! We will definitely be back!

Superb in many ways. - 5 of 5 starsJune 2014 - Tripadvisor

The Airds Hotel has so many things going for it: a friendly, well-trained staff; superb food; comfortably updated rooms; a great location in a small lochside village...the list can be extended. I spent a week here and enjoyed not only these attributes, but also day trips to nearby islands -- Lismore, Mull, and Iona. I look forward to returning.

A Scottish gem - May 2014 - Tripadvisor

We have just spent 4 nights at the Airds hotel and feel we must go into print. The hotel deserves all the accolades it receives. Great position, lovely rooms but above all, outstanding food and service. The dining room looks out across the Loch and the setting just compliments the food that the maestro chef produces. Fresh local produce, bursting with freshness and flavour and presented like a masterpiece. Running a hotel is a team operation and your only as strong as your weakest link so I don't think it's fair to name particular individuals when everyone is performing at such a high standard. However, not to name Pavel would be doing him an injustice. Pavels attention to detail and anticipating guests requirements is outstanding and executed in a very unassuming manner. Well done to all and thanks for making our stay so memorable.
The Lone Rangers

Excellent Hotel Reviewed May 2014 - Tripadvisor

Stayed for 3 nights (April 28th - 1st May) in a superior room. 

Excellent hotel, Exceptional service, Cleanliness and quality of food. They make the best hand cut chips in Scotland. Would recommend this small cosy country house to the most discerning customer.

Again I must thank the Relias Chateaux book for recommending the Airds Hotel. We never seem to bee disappointed when we stay in quality independent luxury hotels.

Port Appin is a fabulous spot not far from Oban with gorgeous scenery just like New Zealand but on our own doorstep.

Thank you again alll the staff for a great and happy stay at the Airds!

Superb Country House hotel - Reviewed 8 April 2014 - Tripadvisor

We have just completed a three night stay in the Airds Hotel - the whole experience was faultless. The atmosphere is that of a relaxed country house and the staff (as noted in other reviews) cannot be faulted for attentiveness and friendly, and highly professional service. The food was outstanding, and should, I suspect, merit a Michelin star. Certainly a small hotel worth making a detour for!

For people who recognise good taste - 5 of 5 starsReviewed 4 April 2014 - Tripadvisor

My wife and I have recently returned from a three night stay and I must say that from the welcome given by Shaun the proprietor to the house staff led by Pawel we felt we were being welcomed into the private home of a house gone by where staff discretely attended your every whim,we were led to the garden suite which suited us as we arrived with our little dog Barney,this was like walking into your bedroom at home decorated with a jug of iced water and the ever present Whisky Mac and like modern homes now seem to have the moving pictures,which turned out to be the alarm clock although for good measure there was also a decorative carriage clock.
The bathroom shower (including body jets) was magnificent.
The resturant from the freshly squeed orange juice at breakfast to your last cup of coffee after dinner was truly superb.
Take my advice and take a few days there you will not regret it.

As Ever Fantastic 5 of 5 starsReviewed 6 February 2014 - Tripadvisor

Well no surprises yet again .just fantastic food, relaxed atmosphere and excellent service. One goes hard to beat this hotel for consistently good food and service.everyone very polite and it's not stuffy at all.nothing seems to be a problem and staff are always on hand to give advice on food and drink and indeed anything else. One mention for Attila whose care and attention were impeccable

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family

The perfect weekend in the perfect spot! Reviewed 4 February 2014 - Tripadvisor

We stayed last weekend for a couple of nights on their 2 night special offer which was really good value and we could not have had a better time. The weather was a bit hit and miss which you would expect at this time of year but the hotel is in a good position for visiting oban for the morning or afternoon and the hotel has some lovely walks right opposite which we enjoyed. This is a perfect spot to really get away from it all and the attention to detail is excellent. The staff are friendly and not at all intrusive which you can sometimes find in top hotels, and this created a lovely atmosphere throughout the hotel. The food was really really excellent on both nights with a good choice of either fish or meat. Leave room for desserts as they are certainly worth it!

We were in a newly refurbished room which was so inviting - classic but modern at the same time with a fantastic bed (good advert for VI Spring!), and just generally beautifully decorated and furnished. Great toiletries, lovely large bathrobe and nice to have slippers. Overall a really enjoyable stay and will come back later in the year for some more relaxation and good food.

Luxury new year - Reviewed 17 January 2014 - Tripadvisor

My husband and I stayed at the hotel on their three night new year package. From start to finish we felt like we were treated like royalty. The food and multiple champagne receptions were exceptional, served by very friendly staff. We arrived on 30th to be served the most wonderful afternoon tea, with cream cakes sitting next to a roaring log fire, and immediately we felt at home. On 31st we partook of a ceilidh which was the most fantastic fun and fortunately there was a caller to help us along. Our fellow guests were equally such good fun and it was like one big house party which culminated in auld lang syne at the bells. The following day, brunch was superb and we enjoyed an afternoon sitting in the lounge talking to fellow guests with another afternoon tea! If that wasn't enough, that evening we had a black tie Gala dinner where the food was sublime. In other words a perfect end to a perfect break.

A small grand hotel  Reviewed 30 December 2013 - Tripadvisor

My wife and I spent three nights at Airds hotel on their Christmas package. We had the Loch View Suite - expensive at over £800 each but good value given the quality of the room, excellent food and comfortable lounges. Best of all is the flawless service from the staff, both local and from abroad. My wife liked large grand hotels but now says she is converted to small grand hotels.

Continues to be the benchmark 5 of 5 starsReviewed 7 December 2013 - Tripadvisor

Yet another great stay. The service continues to be amongst the best we have experienced anywhere. Combine this with the superb scenery which was enhanced by the incredible blue skies and the beautiful autumn colours (who needs New England!) and you have the perfect mini break. The food was also exceptional - the best we have had there.
Keep up the good work, especially the service which comes across as a team effort - not just the managers, but the waiting staff and the housekeepers (the rooms are kept spotless).

Room Tip: If you dont get a room with a loch view some of the other rooms have pleasent views with balconies.
 

A sublime hideaway to get away from a mad world.” Reviewed 23 November 2013 - Tripadvisor

My wife, myself and our fifteen year old son spent an extremely comfortable and enjoyable half term week in the self catering Cottage of the Airds Hotel. The open plan living area and kitchen were very tastefully decorated, and the kitchen exceptionally well equipped. We slept amazingly in our peaceful and oh, so comfy bedrooms. The beds in particular are luxury in the extreme - bliss, even. All three of us were made very welcome when we dined at the hotel, and the food was quite delicious. My wife and I also attended the gourmet night on the Saturday evening of our stay, where each and every course, and each accompanying wine, were quite sublime. I would most definitely recommend both the hotel, with its lovely lounges and restaurant, and the cottage, which we will most certainly come back to."

13 October  Tripadvisor - "Idyllic" Glasgowboy

We stayed one night DB and B as a treat for my wife and me. Can't really do anything but wholeheartedly agree with all the previous glowing reviews. We were lucky with some gorgeous weather but could equally envisage getting cosied up by the fire on a freezing cold day and it being just as enjoyable. Special mention to the superb staff and in particular Graham, one of the managers, who went above and beyond when we got ourselves stranded after a 6 mile walk to Appin with darkness rapidly approaching and the only local taxi service away for the weekend. We were really worried about having to walk back on the busy road in the dark and phoned back for advice. Graham didn't even pause for breath before offering to come and pick us up himself (on his own time incidentally). An absolute life saver. What dedication. A truly great guy!

5/5 August 2013  Tripadvisor ' Stunning hotel - stunning location' debbieg

"I cannot fault this hotel, the moment we arrived we were shown around the public rooms which were all very elegant yet with a relaxed atmosphere. Our room was beautifully decorated with a large, extremely comfortable bed, lovely marble bathroom and a view to die for. We started with a cream tea in the garden whilst admiring that view again. Then we went for the short walk they recommended which was delightful.
Dinner was a magical experience but I will be doing a separate review for that as it was so good!
We really enjoyed our morning tea brought to our room along with little croissants - this typifying the attention to detail experienced throughout our stay. Needless to say, breakfast was equally good with one of the best cooked breakfasts I can remember.
This hotel restores my faith in Scottish hospitality. The staff were extremely efficient and professional and yet friendly so that we were never intimidated. I recommend this hotel to anyone but especially for those seeking a romantic and relaxed break in stunning scenery. Port Appin is a secret gem".

5/5 August 2013  Tripadvisor 'Afternoon Tea - what a treat' bettyboo24

"Lovely setting, despite a minky old day. Great views and very peaceful. We went for family high tea as a special, anniversary treat and we were not disappointed. The staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble, yet they were also unobtrusive. The kids loved the tea and ate more than we bargained for!
We had sandwiches the classic options; smoked salmon, cucumber, beef and so on. These were accompanied by delicious scones, cream and lovely jam along with victoria sponge (grown-up) cup cakes. The kids particularly enjoyed the cakes.
A choice of tea or coffee and we pushed the boat out, as it was a special occasion and had champagne.
We under ordered, figuring the children wouldn't eat a hole cream tea each although they gave it a try.
The dinner menu looked lovely too and I too would not hesitate in staying as they opened up a room to enable the large party to avoid queueing in the toilets and apparently, the rooms looked great.
Not a cheap treat but it made things very special for us and I think our party enjoyed themselves" 5/5 August 2013

5/5 August 2013  Tripadvisor 'Great hotel stunning location' agardner

"This hotel is in a wonderful location. Port Appin has beautiful views across the loch and the hotel makes the most of it. Our room was delightful and also had an amazing view, whilst the public rooms were very stylish and comfortable. The best thing about the hotel is the amazing food, which was the best we had in Scotland. The whole dining experience was magical and romantic, with exempalary service. We will definitely be coming back, and hopefully for a little longer next time. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable"

5/5 August 2013  Tripadvisor  'High Tea' stephenm

"We only had high tea here for 13 people and the service was excellent. The quality of the food was very good. The location is stunning and the the interior is classical with modern touches. I thoroughly rate this hotel and would love to stay next time I am in the area"

5/5 August 2013  Tripadvisor 'First visit but will definitely not be the last' glasgowscott

"We visited Airds for the first time as a birthday treat for my husband. We have spent so much time going abroad and not visiting nearer to home. The hotel is a little gem! The service is attentive - the General Manager is actually from just round the corner to us! The food is just delicious and the chef has a very light touch - yummy! The bedroom was very well appointed and both it and the bathroom had the most wonderful views. It is quite a tradional little hotel - I mean that in a good way - but not at all stuffy. We would certainly return!

Room Tip: Pay more and have a room overlooking the loch - fantastic views!"
 

5/5 July 2013  Tripadvisor 'Food to die for and service to match' Rannoch2

"I booked a meal for myself and my wife and were greeted when we arrived, taken to a lovely group of chairs with superb views across the loch. The Gin & Tonic they gave me was in an excellent glass with lots of ice and tasted wonderful. I do not know why it was so good. Did they chill the glass? We were offered three different canopies then taken through to the dining room.
I had the scallops and my dish was a picture to look at. I did not want to spoil it but one must. The taste did not disappoint. My wife and I both had the lamb as a main course and my wife believes it could not have been bettered.
I had the cheese and was impressed by the waiters knowledge. We then had coffee back in the lounge and again the waiter had ensured we had a table with a view while we enjoyed the various sweet delights offered with the coffee.
We left with a warm glow and decided even then we will return".

5/5 - July 2013  Tripadvisor 'Wonderful wedding anniversary dinner' annirose

"We were staying nearby for our holiday and had seen Airds' website so were considering either having dinner there, or maybe at the Pierhouse down the road, for our Wedding Anniversary celebration.
So glad we chose Airds - what a lovely evening!
Wonderful food, very, very good service and the manager was very friendly and put us at our ease immediately.
Although the bill came to more than we have ever paid for a meal before, we honestly thought it worth every penny for a special occasion. We loved the surprise canapes and amuse bouches that popped up - a really nice touch. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves good food".

5/5 July 2013  Tripadvisor 'What a meal' daniel w

"The restaurant is beautifully decorated and makes the most of the amazing view looking across the loch. We witnessed the most amazing sunset.
We loved relaxing in the lounge with canapes before being shown in to the restaurant. We chose the tasting menu which was simply incredible. A sort of veloute to start which was full of flavour. The cod was devine and the piece de resistance was the dessert - caramel souffle cooked to perfection. All this served by very attentive and knowledgeable waiters. The whole experience, including coffee in the lounge afterwards was perfect".

5/5 May 2013  Tripadvisor 'The best food in Scotland' Georgiedebs

"The Airds never disappoints. We have visited many times over the years and what is always good is the consistency of the place. Whenever we go it is nice to see familiar faces which is a credit to the owners and they are always to professional, welcoming and most importantly friendly. 
The food has again consistently got better and better over the years and it should just be a matter of time before they are awarded a michelin star which they so deserve. We started with scallops and quail which were both amazing and then I had halibut and my husband had pork both of which were fantastic! Desserts did not disappoint either. The place is not cheap but worth every penny and is our favourite place in Scotland both for food, service and scenery not rivalled anywhere else".

5/5 April 2013  Tripadvisor 'Taster Menu' Jon034

We had a fantastic meal at Airds. WE both elected the taster menu and my wife also had the matched wines as I was the driver (boooooo!). The hotel is really nice, luxurious surroundings, real fires etc - the service is very attentive.
Although expensive, it wasn't as expensive as other tasting menus that I've had, the flavours were wonderful and the menu nicely balanced.
My only small criticism would be that the main dish (venison) could have done with being larger.

 

11.JPG

85.JPG

59.JPG

may_food_2.jpg

may_food_1.jpg

goats_cheese_300.jpg

sunset_from_hotel_300.jpg

45.JPG

Turbot_300.jpg

scenic_2_master_4_300.jpg

38.JPG

appin_boat_tours_2_300.jpg

langs_2_300.jpg

strawberry_tea_300.jpg

scallops_300.jpg

tea_5_300.jpg

mountain_biking.jpg

4.JPG

93.JPG

pink_champagne_300.jpg

xmas_and_new_year__300_copy.jpg

garden_view_300.jpg