salmon_starter_header.jpg

Restaurant Awards

As well as the Airds being an award winning hotel, our restaurant has also won many awards for its fine dining.

AA Three Rosettes for Food - since 1996
Eat Scotland - gold award
The Good Food Guide - consistently since 1976

Fine Dining Restaurant of the Year - Scottish Hotel Awards
Restaurant Manager of the Year - Scottish Hotel Awards
The Scottish National Hotel Chef of The Year Medaille D'Or (for outstanding excellence in dinner service)
Best Gourmet Menu (over £50)
Good Food of Scotland: V. Highly Recommended
Scottish Hotel Chef of The Year

Restaurant Reviews by guests

Please find a selection of reviews for The Airds Restaurant. If you've enjoyed your meal with us, then do let us know and please also recommend us in the Good Food Guide  many thanks and hope to see you back again very soon!

 

Exceptional but effortless 5 out of 5
Reviewed April 2015

Hands up, I'm in the trade, I knew that & they knew that. Regardless I'm still a customer but not a competitor, what they do is totally different to the place I run. In saying that there were similarities which I was happy to see, Passion, Service and Wine. On the wine, great list well written easy to follow through and good table service. Food was good, great, and as it should be. I find it hard to relax and unwind when I dine out because I critic, pick fault and wonder why they do certain things, at Airds they do it good, it's right and it's what you should expect. It easy to relax, it easy to enjoy it is just everything it should be. There is a certain restaurant not a million miles from here with a high accolade but I feel that the real deal is being overlooked in Airds and no need to travel over a rickety bridge chasing a star. I really enjoyed my experience here and I thought the food was exceptional, straight to the point and well executed. From start to finish it was everything I wanted. Thank you.

 

Amazing food and fabulous service  5 out of 5
Reviewed october 2014

We were lucky enough to have two fabulous evening meals at the Airds recently. We have eaten in a number of Michelin starred restaurants in the UK & Europe but in our opinion the food here can't be beaten. There is real depth to the taste & flavours and the presentation of the dishes shows flair & precision. My husband sampled the scallops, venison & beef. I was lucky that the vegetarian dishes were equally creative & fabulous with the freshest of fish. The cheese trolley takes some beating & the deserts are to die for so make sure you leave room for them. Relax afterwards in the lounge with your coffee & homemade chocolates. Delicious!!

 
5 of 5 starsReviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed in Airds for two nights recently and ate in the restaurant on both evenings.
The chef managed to combine considerable finesse with clean and accurate flavours. The seafood in particular was cooked with great precision and presented with panache. Service is impeccable but not stiff - the staff are clearly well trained and managed.
Some fine restaurants struggle to keep up their standards at breakfast - but not at Airds where it was perfect.
At £55 per head the food is exceptional value for the quality that is delivered.

 

5 of 5 starsReviewed 13 August 2014

All fantastic. the best food we have had in Scotland and not far off the best food we have eaten in the UK

 

5 of 5 starsReviewed 23 July 2014

Superb from start to finish! Expensive, but didn't mind paying as it was a treat. Would definitely go back and highly recommend!

 

5 of 5 starsReviewed 29 June 2014

20+ years ago as a child I remember what amazing food we had while staying at the Airds, last week I ate there again, slightly nervously wondering if it would be as good. It was. We had lovely pre dinner drinks on the sunny lawn, followed by a great tasting menu.

 

5 of 5 starsReviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed in the hotel over easter and dined each evening in the restaurant which has a lovely relaxed atmosphere, yet attentive and friendly service. We were on a tour of Scotland and stayed in some pretty luxury hotels but the airds was by far the most comfortable as it was luxury, without being pretentious and this is down to the décor, the staff and the relaxed atmosphere created, particularly in the restaurant. there is a good choice menu with lots of local seafood but also a good choice for meat lovers and it is good to see a restaurant which caters for both, especially as I love my seafood and my husband loves his meat! The canapés at the start in the lounge, set the scene for what you know is going to be a superb meal and this standard is carried through each course ending of course with the desserts which again did not disappoint. The standard of our meals were consistent on each evening and I suspect that it will not be long before the restaurant gets a Michelin star. Worth a visit and a detour if just going for dinner.

 

5 of 5 starsReviewed 12 February 2014

The chefs are culinary artists. The food is the freshest Scottish produce beautifully presented in a gorgeous dining room with beautiful views. Service is attentive yet discreet from the Airds Team. A fantastic place for lunch, afternoon tea or cream tea or dinner. Enjoy!

 

5 of 5 starsReviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here last weekend (see hotel review) and the food was simply excellent. The choices on the menu catered for everyone and on the first evening we enjoyed Scallops with an apple and ginger puree and a really delicious cured salmon roulade which I would have loved the recipe for! We then moved onto Roast Highland Venison which did not disappoint and Lemon sole with a soufflé which again was superb. Finally desserts - my husband had the passion fruit soufflé and given I was so full I had the homemade ice cream which was very refreshing. On the second night, whilst extremely tempting to go for the same dishes as the night before, we avoided temptation and chose different dishes none of which disappointed.

We started with a goats cheese mousse with a red pepper cannelloni and the flavours combined perfectly and a pigeon dish which we cannot quite remember what it came with but was delicious! We then followed that with wild seabass and a duck dish with sweet potato, beetroot and a red wine sauce. Finally desserts, my husband did in fact give in to temptation and had the passion fruit soufflé again as he had decided he would never find a place that did it so well and whilst being equally full as the previous evening I had the apple tarte tatin which was divine. This place is really for those who love good food in a relaxing and romantic environment with pleasant staff. I can't wait to come back, although the calorie count cannot be good!

 

Request a table

Restaurant 300 2.jpg

scallops 300 copy.jpg

langoustines_in_bowl.jpg

Turbot_300.jpg

lamp_300.jpg

monkfish_300.jpg